Saturday, March 19, 2011

Team India in this world cup

The ICC Cricket World cup 2011 has started and the 1st round is about to get over. Team India is certain to go to the next level as Bangladesh have lost against South Africa. But, the question is, had Team India performed as well as they were expected to perform?? I think NO, they haven't performed well.

Before the start of the tournament, India were the favorites, favorites for the Title. All the cricketing experts said that India have the strongest team, ON PAPER i should say. Although it doesn't look like they are the strongest team. I agree that the team India is defiantly the strongest team on paper. But Cricket is not played on paper. We have to perform well to win. there are 3 departments...batting, bowling and fielding.

1st of all, we have the great batting line-up full of experience and talent. But, the consistency is not there. Perhaps the batsmen know that we are little weak in the bowling department. So, they try to over compensate for that. in trying this they don't perform as they could or as they should. We are getting great starts, but failing to capitalize on them. they can't wack every ball out of the park. but, they should play sensible cricket and have some thinking behind the innings. Batting powerplay doesn't mean you have to score 100 runs in 5 overs. play smart cricket and you will get 40-50 odd runs easily. just hit a boundary or two every over and you will get those runs. And i think if Virat Kohli is ordered the 7th man in, its a waste of talent. He is very good at the top, to build an innings, not so good to go out and play shots from 1st ball. Suresh Raina can do that, so if it is 7th number, MS Dhoni should prefer Raina. that's all....I know they have the talent and experience. Its just that we have to perform well. and I know we will....

In the bowling department, it's the same thing. talent is there but performance isn't matching up to their abilities........Why Dhoni is keen to play Piyush Chawla in every match?? I think he must get R Ashwin in the team, who is a wicket taker and good in a containing role. And Ashish Nehra doesn't look in good form. We should play only 2 fast bowlers. 1st is Zaheer and 2nd Munaf or Sreesaanth. And 2 spinners Harbhajan and Ashwin. 5th bowling options may be Yuvraj, Pathan and Raina or Sehwag. Ashwin can also be used to bowl in powerplays. In the knock out matches, we will require better bowling performance. I hope we will get the correct combination.

Fielding.......well there in nothing much i would say.It will remain the same, some excellent fielding with some sloppy work....

In short, We have the ammunition to fire, and i wish they fire at the right time...and India get the CUP. any thing less than that must not be accepted.

So, Team India.....world cup de De ghuma ke, ghuma ke, ghuma ke

JAI HIND! 

1 comment:

  1. yeah i do agree with you! Wish to see Ashvin playing today!

    ReplyDelete